Pat Keill Award

From Left to Right:

Prue Clarke, sister of the late Pat Keill OAM;

Martina Fletcher, winner of the inaugural Pat Keill Award;

Annie Kiefer, Council member of Commonwealth Day Council and Hon State Secretary, Country Women's Association of NSW;

Janet Stewart, President, Commonwealth Day Council.

This year is the inaugural Pat Keill Award in honour of the late Pat Keill OAM.

Pat was a great supported of the Country Women’s Association where she was General Secretary for over 30 years and also served on the Commonwealth Day Council and Director of the Australia Youth Trust for over 20 years.

Sadly Pat passed away in April 2016.


Her contribution to the community and in particular young people could not go unrecognised.


Together the Commonwealth Day Council and the Country Women’s Association of NSW created the Pat Keill Award to continue the legacy of Pat and recognise a young person who has contributed to the development and encouragement of young people just as

Pat Keill had done.


The winner Martina Fletcher was presented with a Certificate of Achievement, cheque for $2,000 and life membership from the County Women's Association.


Martina has taken on the responsibility of mentoring new staff in her section at Bankstown City Council including a new female first year apprentice electrician. She has inspired women and female students in the local community to be whatever they want to be in life and that certainly includes working in an environment that may be dominated by men. She is leading by example and has and still gives freely of her time to guide, encourage and inspire other women.