Commonwealth Day Debate

The Commonwealth Day Debate will not be held at the Commonwealth Day lunch in 2017.



As part of the celebration of past Commonwealth Day activities, a debate has been held in the Legislative Assembly at NSW Parliament House.


The debate has been between the the NSW Public Schools Team and other school representative teams. 


The topic for the debate is based on the Commonwealth Theme.


The Chair of the debate last year was Hon Max Willis RFD ED CSI with Professor David Flint AM as one of the adjudicators.


The Archdale Representative Schools Team won the case for the negative and won the debate in 2014. Each member of the team received $200. The team was represented by SCEGGS Darlinghurst, Abbotsleigh and Pymble Ladies College. The debate coordinator was Elle Jones.


NSW Public Combined High Schools Team were the runner-up with each team member receiving $100.The team was represented by Fort Street High School, Sydney Boys and Girls High School. The debate coordinator was Lloyd Cameron.


Sydney Boys High School won the best 'public speaker' award and received $100.


Our thanks to NSW Parliament for hosting the debate in the Legislative Assembly.