

# The Australia Youth Trust

ABN 31 076 218 043

## CALLING FOR NOMINATIONS Tom Harvey Award for Citizenship 2024

The Tom Harvey Award is named after the late inaugural Chairman of the Australia Youth Trust and recognises the outstanding contribution of a young Australian citizen between the age of 15 and 30 years. It comprises a cash prize of \$2,000 that is presented at the annual Commonwealth Day event held at Parliament House, Sydney. Commonwealth Day is celebrated across the Commonwealth of Nations – a voluntary association of 56 member nations, including 2.6 billion people or 33% of the world's population.

The award is made as part of a wider programme of grants made by the Trust to assist young people working together within Australia and developing Commonwealth nations within our region, supporting projects such as:

- the relief of poverty and suffering
- literacy, education, training and employment opportunities
- the promotion of youth leadership exchange.

The Australia Youth Trust was launched by the late Diana, Princess of Wales in October 1996 at a gala luncheon in Sydney. It is a non-profit, organisation made up of volunteers from the government, business and community sectors.

### Past recipients of the Tom Harvey Award for Citizenship:

- **Trae Wilson** (2023) for his willingness to volunteer and his respectful attitude towards everyone and everything. Trae is a leader within the Bourke youth and takes pride in being a role model for the younger generation coming through
- **Wesley Bamblett** (2022) a proud Wiradjuri and Yorta Yorta man who loves representing and connecting with his county and community through holding events and workshops to educate the community
- **Dominic Goodwin-Hauck** (2021) for varied volunteering efforts particularly in empower young indigenous students to realise their true potential so they complete their schooling to HSC level
- *Michael Bonnici* (2020) for varied volunteering efforts and committed to over 2000 volunteer hours for young people in Australia and developing countries
- *William and Philip Chan* twins (2019) for empowering young people to fulfil their potential and to create lasting change in Australia and globally, including the Commonwealth
- **Paul Ell** (2018) for giving back to others to encourage them to recognise their abilities and strive towards a better future
- *Max Rabbett* (2017) for his work in teaching young underprivileged indigenous Australians all aspects of hospitality
- Kate Murton (2016) for her work in fundraising to build an operating theatre in Bahati, Kenya
- Sophie Roden (2015) for her work in Zambia teaching AIDS awareness and reproductive health
- Julian O'Shea (2014) for his work as a humanitarian engineer in underdeveloped countries
- Jess Jacobson (2013) for her work in developing communities to enable young people to break the poverty cycle through education and vocational skills training
- Brittany Joyce (2012) as a volunteer worker working with HIV infected children in Kenya
- **Robert Ma** (2011) for establishing a special mentoring program for indigenous high schools to support their studies and aspirations for entry to university
- Nicole Kuepper (2010) for her development of a revolutionary solar cell that can be manufactured at low temperatures using everyday items
- **Clary Castrission** (2009) for his contribution in the construction of a Learning Centre in Bangalore for severely underprivileged children
- **Karangi Public School NSW** (2008) for the school community's efforts in undertaking environmental rehabilitation and sustainability projects
- Angela Bailey (2007) for helping to establish a school for under privileged children in Tanzania
- Melissa Hurd (2006) for working with homeless children in Dhaka, Bangladesh
- James Strong (2005) to undertake vocational education training in the Cook Islands
- Christina Parasyn (2004) for her work with disability programmes in the Maldives
- James Moody (2003) for his work with the UN on sustainable development
- Veronica Anderson (2002) for her rehabilitation and care of youth people through the Youth Off the Streets programme
- Tammy van Wysse (2001) for her marathon swim in support of the Murray-Darling system.

#### **Objectives of the Australia Youth Trust:**

- i. to provide financial support to Commonwealth and other agencies providing relief programs to young people suffering from poverty, illness, exploitation and abuse in developing countries. *(relief of suffering & poverty)*
- ii. to provide better opportunities for young people and their families including literacy, education, employment and training programs. (education & training)
- iii. to provide funding for students to travel, study and work in a developing Commonwealth country. *(facilitating youth exchange).*

The focus is on young people in Australia and developing Commonwealth nations, youth being defined by the Commonwealth in age terms from 0 to 30. The Trust will show a preference for supporting programs which:

- involve both young Australians and young people from developing Commonwealth neighbours
- focus on providing lasting solutions towards the relief of suffering, and those which provide education and training opportunities
- involve the exchange of information, expertise and ideas between young people in Australia and the Commonwealth in meeting the objectives of the Trust
- require seed-funding but can demonstrate are likely to attract support once established and
- are supported by relevant official bodies and other stakeholders.

#### **Directors of the Australia Youth Trust**

- Jason Collins (Chair)
- David Harvey (Deputy Chair)
- Janet Stewart (Deputy Chair)
- Chris Rath MLC
- Hon Don Harwin.

#### Guidelines for the Tom Harvey Award for Citizenship

The criteria for eligibility for this award are:

- i. Be an Australian citizen
- ii. Aged between 15 and 30 years
- iii. Have made an outstanding contribution to the community through activities reflecting the objects of the Australia Youth Trust

The Board of Directors of the Trust will select the successful nomination for the award, The successful nominee must also be available to attend the annual Commonwealth Day Luncheon (as a guest of the Trust) to receive the award.

#### Nominations will close on Friday 8 December 2023.

All applicants must complete the attached nomination form. For more information, please contact David Harvey on 0419 205 610 or email <u>dharvey@tridentfinance.co.au</u>

David Harvey Deputy Chairman



## 2024 TOM HARVEY AWARD Nomination Form

NOMINATOR	
SURNAME	_ GIVEN NAME
POSITION	TELEPHONE
ADDRESS	
EMAIL	
NOMINEE	
SURNAME	_ GIVEN NAME
POSITION	_TELEPHONE
ADDRESS	
MOBILE	
DATE OF BIRTH	EMAIL
EDUCATION	
PRESENT OCCUPATION	

WHY WOULD THEY BE A WORTHY RECIPIENT OF THE TOM HARVEY AWARD?

ADDITIONAL REFEREES